Rock It

A year has passed!  How time does fly.  The last post was a daily devotional I was doing.  I didn’t do the last day.  Another thing left not completed!  Was this by choice?  Was this laziness?  Was it that I lost interest?  I’d say a little of all!!

What I haven’t done is talk about my life with Scleroderma in a while.  Yes, I still have it.  Yes, I’m still  frustrated with it.  Yes, I still cannot type with it as my hands don’t stretch.  Which could also be a reason that I don’t blog like I used to.  I could get a mic and a program to turn my vocal words into typed words, but I’m afraid that I’d be misunderstood as much as Alexa misunderstands me!!  Of course, that would be an interesting post, in between my cuss words!!!

I’m still here and enjoying time with the grand-littles!!  I get tired easily but I’m trying to stay focused.  I wake up in the morning (ok, sometimes in the afternoon) and my brain has a list of things for me to do:  Laundry, vacuuming, dusting, scrub the floors, etc.  But, I don’t get too far as my body just laughs at my brain and its enthusiastic ambition.  I find that I only do what I have to in order to keep the health department away, but, this place is no where near as clean as I’d like it to be!!  It’s frustrating!!

Hubby’s been great at taking over what I my hands are limited doing.  He now cooks and does the dishes.  He’s getting adventurous with his culinary skills and dinners turn out great!  Not only does he cook and take care of the kitchen, he’s my driver and assists me in walking, putting on a jacket/sweater/button down shirt, etc.  My arms don’t go behind me to put these on anymore, so he has to assist.  It’s a disappointment to me that I’m losing this ability, but thankful that he’s here.

What I miss is my girl time with my friends.  I miss talking for hours escaping my house to visit in theirs or the park.  I miss wandering around the thrift stores to see what might be a great find!  I miss going to lunch with my girlees and just be girls!  Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE being near my son and his family, but, I do miss my friends!!

I have a friend that moved to Idaho.  We talk almost everyday by messaging.  She’s been my saving grace as I still  feel connected to her with the distance between us.  My face is taking on a 2 tone appearance.  Around my eyes & nose, the skin tone is light.  The rest of my face is a couple of shades darker.  I asked her today if I should rock the two tone or get makeup.  I LOVED that she said to rock it!!  I really don’t like wearing makeup!!

I have Scleroderma that is changing my skin, body & organs.  I could be ashamed & hide  or I could just carry on with my head held high and accept the changes that I’m going through.  I choose the latter, but, I do try not to complain.  I know I could be worse off than I am.  I know this disease could turn ugly, so I shall accept the changes and rock it with all I got!!

So get out there and rock your life!!  I’m sure going to rock mine!!!

Leave a Reply

