April 7, 2016

It should NOT be this difficult!!!  My new rheumy is putting  me on a new medication (Cellcept.)  My pharmacy said that it is not approved by my insurance.  Last night I called my insurance and they told me that the pharmacy needed to call and get a one time override so I didn’t have to wait for the meds.  After that, I would have to order my refills through them direct.  So I called the pharmacy back and told them.  They took the info.

This morning I checked my RX status and it still was sitting in the pending as insurance will not cover it.  I called them this morning and told them the above and they were to call me back.  I receive a call back and they told me the insurance company told them that I had to call them for it.  Which I told them that I had last night.

Anyway, I call the insurance again, however, they told me their system was down and they wanted me to call back in an hour.  I called back in an hour, finally got someone and she got the override done and told me to call the pharmacy to rerun it and it should go through.  Called the pharmacy and it went through!  OMG it was like pulling teeth trying to get ALL the information needed so that my RX could be filled.

Now going forward, my rheumy has to send the insurance company my script so when it comes time for refill, I have to get it refilled direct through them.  LOL, so … on to my next adventure!!

2 thoughts on “April 7, 2016

  1. Isn’t it a pain to get meds! I had a similar experience when my gut vetoed to CellCept and my rheumatologist switched me to Myfortic, a slow release forms of the same drug. Insurance turned it down, my doc appealed, it was turned down again, I made three trips to the pharmacy and got a letter from my gastroenterologist before I got the drug. Whew! Exhausting. It was totally worth it as I’m doing better with the Myfortif. 🙂

    • It’s all so crazy!! I’m glad the Myfortif is working for you! It’s great when a med actually works! The Cellcept is working for me and I’m thankful!

Leave a Reply

