January 15, 2016

I’ve recently said to a friend that I accept and love her for who she is, the good, the bad & the ugly.  This got me to thinking, that she is more family to  me than a friend.  Which then got me thinking, what are the definitions of each?

Well, according to Merriam-Webster, these are the definitions:

Family:  A group of people who are related to each other

Friend:  One attached to each other by affection or esteem

I got to thinking, isn’t that supposed to be what is a family, attached to each other by affection or esteem?  I thought Merriam-Webster had them switched.  However, reading and hearing the news, people are demonstrating that they are just a group of people who are related to each other.  They lack the affection and esteem toward one another.  That thought made me sad.  My parents taught us that we are family through thick  and thin and that we are to love and respect each of our siblings as sometimes they may be all you have.

As I described my friend above, the actual definition of friend applies.  I think there should be a word in between that describes a friend that is more like family … Framily?  Famiend?  Familfriend?   LOL … I don’t know, but a combination of both.  I suppose Friend will do for now, if I go with the Merriam-Webster definition.  But she is family, as the saying goes, a sister from another mister!!

I am blessed to have family that are friends as well as friends who are family.  I wouldn’t have it any other way.  I just hope I can pass that on to my next generation.

 

Leave a Reply

