January 12, 2016

Last night hubby was going through boxes and found my school transcripts.  It showed I went to Kindergarten at a public school.  I remember going to a Parochial school for six years, but had no recollection of going to Kindergarten at this one school.  I kept thinking and thinking and yeah, nothing was coming to my brain.

I sent a message to my oldest friend, one that’s known me forever and asked her.  She gave me names of the two teachers at that time.  They both sounded familiar, so I wasn’t sure.  The teacher she had, she described her room and what she looked like and even where her room was at the school.  LOL, I don’t even remember going to that school.  It was amazing that she had these vivid memories and I had nothing.

As I thought about it, I remember bits and pieces, but nothing that is enough to make any sense.  For the six years at the Parochial school, I remember the playground, where & which classrooms were which, the principal, the teachers, but I could not describe each room or some of the teachers.  For my first three grades, it was easy as they were nuns and wore the same habit.  But the civilian teachers … nope.  I do know I had one teacher for 4th & 6th grade.  After that I went to a public junior high.  Now I do have memories of those year … well, more than my elementary years.

Why is it some people of great memories from childhood?  My hubby is the same way.  He’s moved all over the country being an Air Force brat, but he remembers years, places, details, etc.  It just amazes me.

I told my friend that she needed to write down our memories as mine are spotty!!  Thank God for friends who can piece together my past!!!  I know I’ll get the full flash of my life at judgement time, but I want to know now, not when I’m answering for them.  LOL

How far back do you remember?  And are these memories in full detail??

Leave a Reply

