Thursday, 3/26/2015

Yesterday I made a pot roast in the crock pot.  It was so so easy and very tasty!  I took a 2-3 pound chuck roast, lightly browned both sides, put it in a warm crock pot, emptied a french onion soup packet on top of the roast, poured in a 20 ounce of coca cola all over the roast, added a small bag of small new potatoes (washed, of course,) a bag of baby carrots and one onion cut in 6 sections, put the cover on and let it cook on low for 6-8 hours until meat is tender OR on high for 4-6 hours, again until meat is tender.  For thicker sauce, I mixed water and about a tablespoon of flour until the flour was dissolved and poured it into the pot, stirred and turned it to high so it would thicken a bit and serve.  It was yummy.  If you want less liquid, you can use a 12 oz can of soda.  What we’ll have for dinner tonight … well, I have no idea!  HAH

I have two devotionals that I read in the morning.  They both are on YouVersion and if you want the app, click here.  The first devotional talked about work.  About changing the culture at your work.  It reminded me of Michael Jackson’s song, “Man In The Mirror,” because if you want to make a change, you have to start with yourself.  I’ve come from a bad experience working at a church.  Not all church staff are humble, me included.  So today’s devotion was a good reminder.  It is a good reminder to take 15 minutes before you drive onto your work’s property to settle and reset your mind to change your attitude, even if you are going to be facing one of the most difficult days of your week.  Now that I’m not working, I can apply this everywhere I go: doctors office, grocery store, hospital, etc.  How  many times have you almost been hit with a cart in the store?  As I walk with a cane, it seems like the cane is a beacon for people to aim their carts AND act frustrated at me.  I always say that I hope they do not come down with a debilitating disease that will leave them walking slower and needing some type of assistance.  So, yes, I do need to take those few minutes to reset before I enter the store.  I have to go to the store today … oy!

The verse of the day was Psalm 84:10:

“A single day in Your courts is better than a thousand anywhere else!  I would rather be a gatekeeper in the house of my God than live the good life in the homes of the wicked.”

I asked myself, “Is this true of me?”  What does that really mean to me?  Do I covet the good life of the wicked?  What does a day in Your courts mean?

I do wish I had an unlimited income so I could live in a big house with a cleaning person and take outrageous vacations, traveling the world.  But does that mean I would rather live the good life in the homes of the wicked?

I got to thinking to myself, “Self, what is one day in His court?”

His court is Heaven.  To spend one day in Heaven, with my Father and hearing the never ending voices of the angels worshiping and singing praise; OR Being the gatekeeper in Heaven at the gates and catching a glimpse of all that. is so much better than the best day of a good life with unlimited income.   The thought of how relaxing and stress free that would be to be in His presence and light.   For the commentary, you can click here.

That house and vacations just don’t seem that desirable any more.  I love the promise He has given me, an eternity with Him.

Leave a Reply

