Too Much

I’ve been on a Vegan Diet due to my disease.  Trying not to eat any animal anything, including fish has been interesting.  I haven’t really craved anything, but, sometimes I miss cheese and eggs.  I’m dreaming about crab and shrimp, but so far I’m staying strong and not caving.  (Well, except for a flat bread pizza I had at Chilis.  I had 3 pieces and felt like a slow moving yak!)

I have to admit, that between my medication and this diet, I am feeling so much better.  Plus, I’m not having the strong reaction to my one medication.  I can’t explain it, but reaction is gone.

So this past Monday, I awoke and wasn’t feeling great.  I was feeling tired, but I got ready for work and ended up leaving in the afternoon as I was feeling real weak and tired.  Tuesday, I wasn’t any better, I was too tired to get out of bed.  I didn’t go to work that day.  Hubby had to work, so I was home alone.  I kept hearing, get out of bed and check your blood.  Finally I dragged myself out of bed, check my blood and it was at 80.  The more I moved around, the worst I felt.  I ate breakfast, took my meds and went back to bed.  All day, I still didn’t feel well.  I continued to stay in bed, only getting out to eat and potty.

When hubby got home, I got up and checked my blood again, it was at 88.  I tried to fix dinner but I had to eat something as I felt my blood sugar dropping.  When I started to lose my hearing, I knew I was at critical stage.  So I zapped a potato and sat and ate before I went into shock.

While I was eating the potato, it dawned on me.  For the past 3-4 days, I’ve noticed my blood sugar dropping each day.  I saw the reading, knew they were going lower, but it wasn’t registering that I needed to adjust my diabetes medicine.  I take a maximum of 1 pill and 2 of another.  My meds were dropping my sugars to an unhealthy level and I wasn’t picking up on the clue my body was giving me.

That night, after we had dinner, I took 1 glipizide.  The next morning, I was back in the healthy reading and have been feeling better since.

Sometimes I forget to listen to my body and the hints it gives me that it needs attention.  You can bet I am back in tune listening and feeling what it is wanting.

What has your body told you lately, that you haven’t been listening to?  You may find it could save your life.

One thought on “Too Much

Leave a Reply

