What next?

Or do I dare ask that question?

My hands have been hurting and swollen.  So the last time I was in to see the doc I asked him if we could do the blood test to see if I had Scleroderma.  I just got back from the doc, as he has received my results.  My Rheumatoid Factor is above the normal range and my ANA result is Positive Abnormal.  Now I know I’m abnormal, but to actually see it on the test … well …

Basically what this means is that I have to be referred to a Rheumatologist who will then do more testing to narrow down what I have.  My doc feels I have one of the following:  Rheumatoid Arthritis or Lupus or Scleroderma.  Of these three I hope I have Rheumatoid Arthritis.  I have seen with my own eyes what Scleroderma can do, as I had a sister who died from this disease.  Lupus is not much better.  But…now I get to play the waiting game as the Rheumatologists in this area are only in Reno and the wait is about 3 to 4 weeks or longer.

I’ve been using a squishy ball to massage my hands.  Plus using lotion every time I wash my hands to keep them from drying out.

Have I told you how much this getting old stuff really stinks???  Well it does!!!!

4 thoughts on “What next?

Leave a Reply

