What’s on MSN

I logged onto my homepage and one of the headlines on MSN is “Low Risk Places to Buy Homes this Year.”   The one picture I recognized right off the bat.  It was Omaha, Nebraska.  When we lived in Nebraska, we would go to Omaha to shop, go to the airport, the zoo, or wander around downtown among their cool little eclectic shops on cobblestone roads or  alleys.  So when I saw this picture, it was a one I had seen through my eyes many times.  Who knew I’d recognize Omaha.  I mean ,really …  Las Vegas, Reno, San Francisco, but Omaha?  I never thought I would. 

I loved going to Omaha.   The zoo was one of my favorite places.  We, a rare occassion when hubby was with us, went to the zoo on day we had all three kids.  We walked and wandered all over.  By the time we were done, we went to Tony Roma’s for ribs.   Before the waiter could put the bread on the table, we all had one in our hand and he slowly took the empty basket away from us and said, “Okay, I’ll bring you more bread.”   LOL … We had NO idea we were that hungry.  As a matter of fact, I think everyone ate pretty much what was ordered.   HAH, too funny!  Of course, I love ribs, so my plate would have been cleaned regardless!

There was this huge old gorilla at the back of the cage watching TV.  LOL, now that was my kind of gorilla!  He didn’t want anything to do with us gawkers at the front.  He left the entertaining for the moms and the smaller ones.  As long as he had his back to us, while watching the tele, he didn’t seem to care what was going on elsewhere.  Reminded me of “Harry and the Hendersons” when Harry was watching the tele. Or, a typical dad who tuned out the family with this box of talking and moving people on it!

When I was in grade school, mom wasn’t working.  Dad would come home from his morning  job as a gardener to find mom watching soap operas.  He would get so mad at her for wasting time with these dramas.  By the time I was in junior high, mom was working at a small motel downtown as the maid.  After dad was done with his morning job, he’d come home.  With no one home, he’d eat lunch with the family on the soap opera.  He got to know them quite well.  One evening my sister came over while dad was telling mom all about what went on in that day’s show.  My sister was aghast, “Who are you talking about, that’s a terrible thing for a person to go through!”  LOL … Dad was busted, he had to fess up to my sister that he watches the soap operas before he took his nap to rest for his chef job at the hotel.  HAH, my sister couldn’t believe he was watching soap operas after all the fuss he made over mom watching them.    I guess the drama on the daily soaps were more traumatizing than the dramas he had to live with daily with his children of four girls and a boy.  It made him feel like we were a little more normal.  HAH, if he only knew!

2 thoughts on “What’s on MSN

  1. Omaha is a cool city and I can never get enough of the old market area. The zoo has grown and is growing some more.

    I guess the Wife and I were ahead of our time when we moved to the Omaha area.

Leave a Reply

