The Woman with the Veil

The Nevada Museum of Art  had a free day today, so we ventured to Reno to see the exhibit.  As we were standing in line waiting our turn to view this painting I wasn’t sure how I would feel once I saw her.  Once we made our way to the rope protecting her space, I saw such detail in the hair, the clip in her hair and the band holding the veil.  The necklace was simple but the colors matched her outfit.  What struck me was the way the folds in the scarf or shawl on her arm looked so 3 dimensional with the shading and detail of the border.   Her hands were amazing as you could see definition in her hand all the way to her fingernails.   He even captured the moon of each fingernail. 

Hubby pointed out the stray strand of hair that was laying along the side of her face.  It was so faint that I missed it, until he mentioned it.  

We went through the other part of the exhibit as they talked about Raphael, the area, speculation as to who this woman was and all.  Then we went back to where she was  and looked at her from an angle.  It was as if we were able to see the other side of her face because the shadowing changed by the angle. 

Everytime we looked at her we saw something else.  I could have stood there for hours just looking at every inch, trying to commit it to memory. 

We spoke with one of the museum employees.  He said when she first arrived, it took two weeks to get the humidity right in the room, before they could even hang her. 

Raphael painted her in 1516.  The painting is 100 years older than the frame and it’s unsual that the frame would travel with the painting.   The frame is hinged on one side.  When she is back at her  home museum, the frame can be opened and exposed  to natural light for those that want to copy the painting.  There was glass in front of the painting, however, it would have been interesting to see it without the glass. 

She arrived in Reno with armed guards and I’m sure she will be leaving Reno the same way.  This is her last stop in the states.  Once her time here is up, she will be heading back home.  It makes me want to go to Italy and see all the paintings from these Renaissance Artists.  How cool would that be?

After, we had lunch at the Grand Sierra Resort’s Buffet.  Quite yummy and I had two desserts.  Then we had our doc appointment to go over our blood work.  He was pleased with us both as most of our numbers went down.  The only thing I can attribute it to is that we are eating at home more and dinners are made from recipes in  the new diabetic cookbook.   Plus making our own bread.  We were drinking the MonaVie M(Mun), which seems to help also.  I hate when we run out.

Now we are home watching the Olympics.  We both got a steroid shot.  Me for my allergic itchy eyes and him for his lungs.  I’m so glad the itching has stopped after three months, now I’m dealing with the soreness from my rubbing the skin raw.

Tomorrow the weather people are expecting a snow storm.  Winter just doesn’t want to give in to spring.  Hopefully it will blow past us.  That would be nice.

Hope y’all have  a great Friday.  Talk to you later.

5 thoughts on “The Woman with the Veil

  1. What a beautiful painting! I’m always amazed by the amount of detail in them, especially the folds of fabric. How do they do that?

    Glad to hear your blood work is good.

    • The MonaVie M looks really interesting. Is it wine or more of a fruit juice product? How did you find out about it? Where do you get it?

    • I had mentioned that to the employee and he said in those days, it was a way for the painter to show off. He learned from the others, but then he added his own talent so his paintings aren’t quite like the other Renaissance Artists. I wish I knew how they can do that, so cool!

  2. I’m been to a few fine art museums and I think I am genetically predisposed to ‘not get it.’ I just don’t appreciate art.

    The last time I went to an art museum, I walked through rather uninterested in what I was seeing. I then went out into the sculpture garden and was fascinated by the trees – they were from all over the world and labeled. I guess that I appreciate nature more than I appreciate painting and sculpture.

Leave a Reply

