Refrain from being irritable

All of day six click here.

-TODAY’S DARE-

Choose today to react to tough circumstances in your marriage* in loving ways instead of with irritation.  Begin by making a list of areas where you need to add margin to your schedule.  Then list any wrong motivations that you need to release from your life.

  Things to ponder: 

Where do you need to add margin to your life?  When have you recently overreacted?  What was your real motivation behind it?

He who is slow to anger is better than the mighty, and he who rules his spirit, than he who captures a city.  -Proverbs 16:32

* relationships, friendship, co-workers

According to Websters NewWorld Compact School and Office Dictionary, Irritable means:  (1) adj. – easily irritated or provoked (2) Med. – excessively sensitive to a stimulus

Even though the second definition is a medicine description, can it also be an emotional description of what makes us irritable?

What causes you to be irritable? 

What causes you to be irritable with others?

What causes you to be irritable with yourself?

Don’t we all get irritated at something/someone?   There are two things that used to irritate the you know what out of me.    The first is someone using my work computer; the other, someone sitting at my desk.  Yes, I would be doubly agitated when someone was doing both.

Are these rational irritations?  No, but it would drive me insane! 

Oh yeah, there is another thing that used to drive me up a wall.  When someone uses a two hole punch to fasten the paper in a file and the holes aren’t in the middle so when you close the file,  the corner bends and the papers aren’t straight inside.   LOL … no wonder I had receptionists/secretaries afraid of me. 

Now isn’t that the silliest thing to get irritated over?  I mean really, if that was the worse thing that happened, then hey, my day should have been golden!!

What changed?  I finally realized that these things are not important in the overall picture.  I try to see the other side before I react from my side.  It isn’t easy but it is worth the effort.

So how will you face what irritates you today?

6 thoughts on “Refrain from being irritable

  1. I was thinking about punching people in the face. I’m not sure how healthy or productive it would be, but I bet I wouldn’t be as irritated.

    Okay, I wouldn’t really punch someone in the face. But I think I’m excessively sensitive to stimuli these days and need to develop a thicker skin. Or get more flexible. Being more flexible sounds sexier than thick skin. 🙂

    I hope today is going well for you

  2. I just got back from shopping. Crowds. Couldn’t find stuff. I get home and my doc sent in the wrong prescription which may cost me $80 for nothing.

    I am irritated. At life, not the Wife.

  3. MM – in this day and age, one would probably be arrested for assault. But you are right, it would probably make you feel better. Besides, punching someone/something would hurt the hand. LOL, we could all use a little more flexibility !

    GH – LOL

    HD – Why are medications so dang expensive? If I were more prepared, I would start ordering through the drug store websites so they can send my meds through the mail.

Leave a Reply

