How selfish are you?

Can you say … ouch!?    I knew I was selfish, but after reading Day 3, I realize how bad my selfishness is.   Click here for the information on Day 3. 

I know we all are selfish in one way or another.  I know we all have selfish motives.  To quote from today’s challenge, “It is a trait we hate in other people, but justify in ourselves.” 

After reading this, I realized how true that statement really is.    How many times have we seen someone totally in the “me, me, me” mode and what do we think of them?  When we get into our own “me, me, me” mode what are we telling ourselves to justify this? 

We are beings in our earth suit and occupying this earth … and each and every one of us is selfish.  Some more than others, some less.  Look around you, because of our selfish tendencies, there are so many hurting, so many sad, so many killed … all by other people with selfish motives.

It not only is disheartening, but heart hardening.  I know I had a hard heart.  I didn’t want to get hurt or have my feelings hurt, so in order to protect myself, I had a nonchalant attitude toward people.  After awhile, your heart hardens and you find that you don’t care at all about people or situations.

Today’s Dare

Whatever you put your time, energy, and
money into will become more important
to you. It’s hard to care for something
you are not investing in. Along with
restraining from negative comments,
buy your spouse something that says,
“I was thinking of you today.”

“Do nothing from selfishness or empty conceit, but with humility of mind regard one another as more important than yourselves” (Philippians 2:3).

Did you read that one part above, “Along with restraining from negative comments …”  I know I’ve complained about hubby and his negative comments lately.  I have to check my words before I say them to see if there is a negative comment coming from my mouth.  Don’t ya just hate looking in that mirror?

I’m trying to do this not only to my spouse but others around me, especially strangers.  What will you do today for a stranger that is an unselfish act?

4 thoughts on “How selfish are you?

  1. I am very selfish. The Wife is usually the one who drags me kicking and whining to help others. Despite the good feeling that often results from helping others, I am stuck in my ways.

    I don’t think I could ever accomplish these challenges.

Leave a Reply

