Not of this world

I’ve posted before about us being in this world temporarily.  We really are here for a short time and then, when we die, we can either have eternal life or not. 

I’ve been reading the first book of a series by Tim LaHaye and Jerry B. Jenkins called The Jesus Chronicles.  The first book is “John’s Story, The Last Eyewitness.”  These are the same authors that wrote the Left Behind Series.  I enjoy reading these books, because they bring what was written in the Bible and make it into a story that one can understand.   This story is obviously about John.  I love the settings they created to tell the story and still quote scripture.  For me, it makes the story flow and what I’ve read so far, helps me understand the Book of John more.    I can’t wait until I get to the Book of Revelations in this story. 

There are so many views of the end of times, but to actually read what it could look like in this day and age is quite interesting and scary at the same time.  Much of what is written is turning into reality and that in itself thrills and chills me.  Being a believer and having accepted Jesus as my Savior make the signs of the times pop out at me even more.    No, I am not expecting the world to end in 2012 as the new movie is predicting … but … what if it does?   What if it ends tomorrow?  What if the Bible is true.  Would you be right with God to live in His kingdom or end up elsewhere? 

What if it’s true … and you knew about God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit, but you didn’t truly believe or have faith?

What if it’s true … Jesus said, “I am the way and the truth and the life.  No one comes to the Father except through me.” John 14:6

What if it’s true … and everyone will be judged on that last day.  Based on the above quote, you can’t buy your way into God’s Kingdom.  You won’t be allowed in based on being a good person.  So what does John 14:6 mean?

For that matter, what does John 3:3 mean?  In reply Jesus declared, “I tell you the truth, no one can see the kingdom of God unless he is born again.”

Yes, I know, we all dislike those in-your-face-born-again Christians.  I think actions speak way louder than words.  To be a Christian is to be more like Jesus.  So what does it look like to be like Jesus?  He wasn’t one of those pharisees that thought they were better than everyone else; that put down the laws for others to follow, but broke them personally.   He wasn’t among them preaching and judging.   We’ve all seen John 3:16 “For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life.”

But I think John 3:17 is just as important “For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through Him.”

Jesus was among the thieves, liars and least of these.  He was teaching.  He was showing us the way.  He was giving us the key to live forever.  Not necessarily in the flesh, but in the spirit.  It’s interesting that human beings in those days weren’t much different than we are today.   We still condemn people.  We still judge people.  We still have pride and arrogance.  We still covet things/others.   This reminds me of the Casting Crowns song, “While you were sleeping.”   The last half of the lyrics are:

“… United States of America
Looks like another silent night
As we’re sung to sleep by philosophies
That save the trees and kill the children
And while we’re lying in the dark
There’s a shout heard ‘cross the eastern sky
For the Bridegroom has returned
And has carried His bride away in the night

America, what will we miss while we are sleeping
Will Jesus come again
And leave us slumbering where we lay
America, will we go down in history
As a nation with no room for its King
Will we be sleeping
Will we be sleeping

United States of America
Looks like another silent night”

For all the lyrics, click here.  Check this song out on You Tube … I love the music and the lyrics.  I would add it here, but my Adobe Flash isn’t updated yet.

So what brought this post on?  I’ve been doing quite a bit of thinking.  It’s human nature to do the wordly things … to have thoughts and behaviors of this world.  As we were on the way to work, hubby was driving and I had my eyes closed just having my 40 minutes of being still.  In this stillness I kept wondering how I could be more like Jesus and have my actions speak way louder than words.  What happened next was awesome.  I pictured myself in a garden with Jesus.  We were sitting on a large rock and talking.  Every once in awhile we’d look down and talk about what was happening and what should be done next.  It dawned on me that we were looking at my earthly being going through my day.   When things were coming up, I would just turn to Him and ask what would you do?

Then I opened my eyes again and I was back in the truck driving around the lake.  What a great way to look at my day.  So I decided if things got crazy or I felt like I was becoming worldly … I’d just close my eyes for an instant, see Jesus and me on the rock, and ask, what would you do?  Just that, got me through my day in a much better light. 

I’m not saying I was a goody two shoes, because I am a human being.  I am able, in an instant, to go back to my old thinking.  But it sure helped to know I was sitting next to my Savior and was able to continue to ask what would you do? 

I’m also not saying that I had all the answers, sometimes He would let me know what I thought, said or did, wasn’t what He would think, say or do.  But it was brought to my attention so I could repent and go on. 

In one of my church classes, they said to take an unGodly thought captive.  I asked one day … what do you do with it once you take it captive.  Me with a literal mind, saw a thought, okay I saw a thought as a light bulb, surrounded in chains.  But what was I supposed to do with a chained bulb?  Then the pastor said, you give it to God.   Wow, how many chained bulbs does He have, just from me?  LOL … way too many!

Leave a Reply

