Ch Ch Ch Changes

Interesting changes we are going through.  The one thing that I thought would be a constant in my life here, is not.  Our church has gone through a name change.  In addition to the name change, our Senior pastor and founder of our church is leaving.  No, he’s not leaving ministry, but he is leaving the area.  Granted he won’t be too far as he is going to be with Bayside Church in Northern CA.  (I think)  We didn’t make it to the meeting, so I’m getting this through different posts.

I don’t know how I feel about this.  I know I have no control over this and I can only hope the person they find to take his place is just as dynamic a speaker as Pastor J, but will that person be as humble and down to earth?  Wow, I am floored.  Everyone sounds pretty positive, but I guess I had better go to the next meeting to hear for myself what is really going on.  I’m sad, but I am happy for Pastor J and his wife.  They truly are believers and God is doing great things through them. 

Those of you that have seen my hubby’s pic on facebook has seen the lovely transition his face is going through.  When we were younger, we didn’t think of sun damage, sun screen or anything to protect us from the sun’s damaging rays.  I remember smothering tanning oil all over and laying in the sun, only to get darker and darker … hello … I’m already tan, why did I feel I needed to get darker ?!?!?!?!  It was the 70’s, what can I say.  

But back to hubby.  All these years of damage to his Irish/Scottish skin is starting to rear its ugly head.  He’s had many spots frozen off, but some are starting to come back and others, that we cannot see, are starting to just breach the surface.  So the doc has given him a creme to put on twice a day for 14 days.  He looks terrible and feels like he looks, if not worse.  He has 5 more days before the doc wants to take a look.  The only thing I can think of relating this to is a chemical peel, people do on their faces … only it is done once.  With the creme he has, it’s put on over and over and over again.  Poor guy is hurting.  Good thing we have the major pain pills to help him sleep.

As I was thinking about these and other things happening in my world, this song kept going through my mind … I looked up the lyrics and it really struck a chord.  Maybe I need to turn myself and face me.  Face the person I’ve become and see if I’m really the person I was meant to be. 

Lyrics

I still don't know what I was waiting for
And my time was running wild
A million dead-end streets
Every time I thought I'd got it made
It seemed the taste was not so sweet
So I turned myself to face me
But I've never caught a glimpse
Of how the others must see the faker
I'm much too fast to take that test

Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the stranger)
Ch-ch-Changes
Don't want to be a richer man
Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the stranger)
Ch-ch-Changes
Just gonna have to be a different man
Time may change me
But I can't trace time

I watch the ripples change their size
But never leave the stream
Of warm impermanence and
So the days float through my eyes
But still the days seem the same
And these children that you spit on
As they try to change their worlds
Are immune to your consultations
They're quite aware of what they're going through

Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the stranger)
Ch-ch-Changes
Don't tell them to grow up and out of it
Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the stranger)
Ch-ch-Changes
Where's your shame
You've left us up to our necks in it
Time may change me
But you can't trace time

Strange fascination, fascinating me
Changes are taking the pace I'm going through

Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the stranger)
Ch-ch-Changes
Oh, look out you rock 'n rollers
Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the stranger)
Ch-ch-Changes
Pretty soon you're gonna get a little older
Time may change me
But I can't trace time
I said that time may change me
But I can't trace time
One thought on “Ch Ch Ch Changes

Leave a Reply

