Mother’s Day

How was your mom’s day? 

Mine was very uneventful.  All three of our children called, which was the highlight of my day.  The rest of the day I was on the computer, playing Bejeweled, while watching movies. 

Moms, don’t you just love it when your child says, “Mom, I’m an adult and can make my own decisions about …”  To which I replied, “I am still your mother and I’m entitled to worry!”   I know my children are adults and I know they make their own decisions all the time.   It will be interesting when my grandchildren are adults and say the same back to their parents.  Wherever I am at that time, I’ll be grinning!

Not that we as grandparents aren’t grinning already.  It is pretty fun to watch our children be parents.  It’s interesting to hear the words come out of their mouths.  Hubby and I don’t say anything, but we sit back and smile, while thinking … where have we heard that before? 

I used to wonder why my mom would sit and crochet and cry.  Not a full blown sob, but I’d catch her, as I would pass through the room, sniffing and dabbing at her eyes.  I never asked her what was wrong, as we didn’t have that kind of relationship.  But now I understand.  When your house has children, then they grow & leave, you find yourself alone.  In those alone and quiet times you do alot of thinking about alot of stuff. 

Now that I’m getting older, unfortunately the hormones are starting to deplete and the emotions are closer to the surface than I like.   I can start with the sniffing, then sob, and back to sniffing.  Which was the case today.  As I write this, my eyes are more lubricated than they need to be. 

Ladies, don’t you just love all we go through as a female?  I’ll be glad when the change is finally over!  There’s gotta be a song in there somewhere about hot flashes and tears.  Can’t you just hear the steele guitar playing?  As long as they add a fiddle to that.  Which reminds me of one of Steve Martin’s routines about the banjo.  You can’t be sad when you hear a banjo.  LOL … so true! 

I had recorded the Dove Awards and watched it tonight.  Stephen Curtis Champman performed his song, “Cinderella.”  This past year they had a tragedy in their family.  He dedicated his performance and song to his daughter, Maria, who is now in Heaven.  How does one recover from that?  They have their faith.  They have their belief system that pulls them through.  Being a Christian doesn’t mean you’ll have a tragedy free life.  It just means that when you go through whatever you go through, you know that you are not alone.  You have the most powerful source inside you guiding you, loving you, and carrying you.

So in closing, I hope all you moms had a great day.  For those of you children who haven’t talked to your moms for whatever reason … make the call.  Even if it’s a short, Happy Mother’s Day.  There’s still a few minutes just do it.

2 thoughts on “Mother’s Day

  1. Wow, I didn’t see that. But I’ve been thinking about their family since they lost Maria. Hope all is well is your world!

  2. I called my Mom. I would’a bought her a meal or something, but Sac’s a little far to travel just for lunch… well, at least not and be back on time for work on Monday!

Leave a Reply

