No more drugs … well, okay, maybe one more

I know I had the “no drug protest” a few posts back, however, when I was hurting the other day, it was because I let an infection get so bad, it was on its way to a kidney infection.  Monday I showed up, hunched over with back pain, at the docs office at 8:15am, before they start seeing patients and had to wait a bit before I was able to see the doc and get the meds.  I am feeling so much better … yay!!

So my drive has been interesting.  It is definately bad for our health.  By the time we get to Carson, I’m starved and my hunger dictates what we are eating for dinner.  Last night we had Taco Bell.  It was Taco Tuesday.  Tonight we stopped at In and Out and had the burgers and fries animal style.  Did you know you could do that?  LOL … pretty dang good and messy.  It’s my son’s fault, he told us about animal style and you know us, we had to try it!

I’ve fallen off the exercise wagon again.  No reason, just can’t get my lazy butt up there on that treadmill.  Hopefully, I’ll get back in the swing of things, especially since bikini weather is around the corner … LOL … as if this body is going into a bikini ever again in my lifetime!!  Of course it could be a way to clear the beaches and pools so I have the water to myself!

Have you seen the Jenny Craig commercial with Valerie Bertinelli in a bikini … all I can say is … “You go Girl!!!”  I didn’t recognize her.  I’m reading her book and for those that like autobiographies, you should read it.  She’s very real and up front about all that she’s been through in her life.  Plus it is a quick read.  Although I’m still reading it, because it’s one of 4 books I’m trying to read at the same time.  Not easy for a slow reader.

One of the other books I’m reading is “Rich Dad, Poor Dad” – that is interesting reading and thinking. 

Our son is going to be successful.  How do I know?  Because he doesn’t have the fear and insecurities that keep one from doing what he dreams.  As he puts it, “He goes and kicks the doors in.”  I wish I had that.  I should say that I have it, but over the years, the fear and insecurities have subdued my desires and dreams. 

One of the many books I’m trying to finish reading (although it’s been over a year since I’ve put it down) says on the back cover, “What if the life you really want, and the future God wants for you, is hiding right now in your biggest problem, your worst failure … your greatest fear?”   As I said, I hadn’t picked this book up in over a year, I’m about over half  way through.  I’m sure I’ve read the back cover before, however, in reading it again, it struck a major chord in my brain.  I think it’s time to reread, “In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day” by Mark Batterson.  How to survive and thrive when opportunity roars.  If this doesn’t work, I’ll have to have my son teach me how to kick in those doors!

2 thoughts on “No more drugs … well, okay, maybe one more

  1. The Wife loves In-N-Out’s animal style fries. I like my food a little less messy.

    I’m a serial book reader – I read one book at a time. My mind can’t keep more than one book straight at the same time.

    • I love a good messy burger and fries!! Although not good for you, but they sure to do taste great!

      With as slow a reader as I am, I should read a book at a time. The problem is people give me books to read and I try to get them read at the same time, otherwise I’d have them for a year or more. Plus reading the chapters for the class we are in, which is what I should be doing right now. Ugh, I’m such a procrastinator!

Leave a Reply

