Live like you were dying

That’s the name of the teaching series at church.  We’ve missed the first two, however, we did make it to church today and what was the topic?  Forgiveness … our pastor having been on the dying end of pastoral care, the last thing a person wants and hopes for is to forgive and be forgiven. 

In our teaching notes was this statement:  Forgiveness is relinquishing my right to hurt you for hurting me.   

Also in our notes was:  “See to it that no one misses the grace of God and that no bitter root grows up to cause trouble and defile many.”  Hebrews 12:15

Now I just have to remember to do that, relinquish it to Him.  Not let it fester or cause resentment and bitterness in my heart like a bad root that kills.

Our pastor asked who in our lives do we have to forgive for the hurts they’ve caused.  The first one that came to my mind was the person that sexually abused me when I was a little girl.  The other one was my dad for the times I had been beaten.  The first one, I had forgiven awhile ago and I didn’t have any hurt inside anymore.  The second, took me by surprise.  My dad came into my mind and the tears started to fill my eyes.  Good thing they were closed so the water  couldn’t escape.

Who has hurt you deeply that you need to forgive?  Try it, it will lighten the load.

2 thoughts on “Live like you were dying

  1. I don’t think so. By not caring, it’s just shoving that hurt farther down so it doesn’t breach the surface. Unfortunately, what’s been shoved down, exposes itself when you least expect it or at the worst time ever imaginable.

    Trust me, been there, done that, seen it happen in other people.

Leave a Reply

