To my friend.

I have a blogging buddy who is going through a bit of darkness right now. 

I’ve compiled the following quotes for this person:

“There is no failure except in no longer trying. “

~ Elbert Hubbard

“You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.”

~ Wayne Gretzky

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover. “

~ Mark Twain

“Thinking will not overcome fear, but action will.”

~ W. Clement Stone

“If you don’t go after what you want, you’ll never have it. If you don’t ask, the answer is always no. If you don’t step forward, you’re always in the same place.”

~ Nora Roberts

“What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us.”

~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

“Security is mostly a superstition. It does not exist in nature, nor do the children of men as a whole experience it. Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than outright exposure. Life is either a daring adventure, or nothing. “

~ Helen Keller

“We make a living by what we get. We make a life by what we give.”

~ Winston Churchill

“When the world says, “Give up,”
Hope whispers, ‘Try it one more time.’ “
– Unknown
However, because of my faith and love of my Lord, I offer this poem to my friend:

Footprints in the Sand  footprints1

One night I dreamed I was walking along the beach with the Lord. Many scenes from my life flashed across the sky.

In each scene I noticed footprints in the sand. Sometimes there were two sets of footprints, other times there was one only.

This bothered me because I noticed that during the low periods of my life, when I was suffering from anguish, sorrow or defeat, I could see only one set of footprints, so I said to the Lord,

“You promised me Lord,
that if I followed you, you would walk with me always. But I have noticed that during the most trying periods of my life there has only been one set of footprints in the sand.
Why, when I needed you most, have you not been there for me?”

The Lord replied, “The years when you have seen only one set of footprints, my child, is when I carried you.”

                 Mary Stevenson, 1936                          

I will keep you in my prayers, Bud.  You have been there for me and I am here for you.  Hugs to you my friend, I wish we were closer so I could give you a real hug. 

 

3 thoughts on “To my friend.

  1. I’m sorry it has taken me so long to respond to this. I’d gotten behind on my blogs for a bit, including yours, but in the case of this particular post, I had a difficult time reading it immediately after I’d written “It’s Worse”. It’s taken a few days to get to the point where I could.

    I am deeply touched that you took the time and energy to put all this together. Words, for once, completely fail me. All I can do is to express my deepest thanks. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Finally Responding « The (Single) GeekHiker

Leave a Reply

