That time of month!

I’m starting to dislike my monthly doctor visits.  As I write this, I’m thinking it is just as bad as the mother nature monthly visits!  (Sorry Guys!)

I had all kinds of good news today!  Granted a good portion of it is self-inflicted, however, the other part is my body rebelling.  I’ve been letting what he said sink in for a couple of hours and now I just have to get it off my chest.  So, excuse me for ranting.

Like I said, I am to blame for most of my health problems.  I’m overweight and I don’t watch my diet, especially since I have diabetes.  Plus the fact that I am not active!  My first bit of good news was that my blood sugar is still out of wack – HAH, go figure, I’m not watching my diet very well.  The next piece of good news is that my overall blood sugar test (A1C test) was just above a 7.  Granted a 7 isn’t the worst it could be however, it isn’t the best either.  He’d like to see it around 5-6.   The next great news was that my kidneys have more protein in them than they used to, which means my diabetes is starting to affect them.  If I don’t get my sugars under control and lose the weight, they will start getting damaged and unfortunately, there is no reversing the damage.  The last wonderful news is that I am having an ultra-sound on my calf this Saturday.  There’s a possibility that I have clots forming in my leg.  *sigh*

Will this be enough to kick my butt in gear … well, maybe.  I just have to go the the 5 stages first.  I think I’m still stuck in denial, heading towards the mad! 

Well, thanks for letting me vent.  I’m going to sulk in the corner now.  Hope ya’ll have a good night.

6 thoughts on “That time of month!

  1. It must be rant time since a lot of people are doing so right now. That’s OK. It’s a free country.

    Now get off your butt, exercise, and eat good food so you can keep blogging! 🙂

  2. HD – LOL, thanks I needed that! As for the rant in everyone’s blogs, I think you are right … is there a full moon out? Or is it full moon fallout?

  3. What else is a blog good for if not to unleash the occasional rant? 🙂

    And I’m with HD: go hit the hiking trail, it’ll do all the things you’re talking about. (Okay, maybe I’m a wee bit biased. 😉 )

  4. The benefits of cardio to a diabetic in controlling blood glucose levels are enormous. People think that all they have to do is take their medicine and that’s all they have to do. But cardio exercise can help not only control your blood sugar but your blood pressure and weight as well. Actually I think exercise can probably help a lot of medical conditions that people have today. Of course, this doesn’t mean you can stop on the way home from the gym and get a large pizza. A proper low fat, low carb, high protein diet is also needed to control blood sugar, blood pressure and your weight. Not to mention, smoking. Smoking is one of the major contributors to high cholestorol levels in people today. I could go on and on. Visit my site by following the link connected to my name for more information on diabetes and how it affected me. Hopefully you will not go through what I did. It sounds like you caught it in plenty of time. Just don’t blow things off when you feel better. Develop a healthy lifestyle centered around a low fat, low carb and high protein diet and daily cardio exercise.

Leave a Reply

