BratsJourney Repost

So what does it feel like to be hit by a sledge hammer?

bratsjourney | July 15, 2007 12:58

I’ve joined a summer book club at church.  The book we are reading is “Blue like Jazz” by Donald Miller.  I was reading Chapters 5-10.  It was like God was hitting me over the head with a sledgehammer.  I have to admit, he does have to do that now and again because sometimes my pride makes it hard to hear Him.

Why is it we feel we are above the charity of God?  Above God’s grace?  That dang pride just gets in the way.  I do feel like the author, when asked if I have any prayer requests in my small groups, I feel like my problems are so much smaller than the others and I don’t want to bother Him or anyone else.  But who is to say anyone’s problem or situation is more deserving of His Grace and attention?

I am so ashamed to say that I realize I am too prideful to accept His grace.  What a slap in the face!  What a wake up call.  I have some major face-in-the-dirt humbling to do.  How about you?

Leave a Reply

