Another repost from BratsJourney

What the heck is a Recoverying Catholic??

bratsjourney | July 17, 2007 05:49

My brother-in-law asked me this question the other day.  He and my sister, being devout Catholics wanted to know.  I know many “former” Catholics and we all feel the same.  Like we have to take a 12 step program to de-program ourselves from what we were taught or I should say, not taught through the course of our religious journey.

Now before you all go up in arms about me dissing the Catholic religion, just hear me out, then you can go all up in arms about this.

I have a friend who was a devout Catholic.  Went to church almost every morning, always on the weekend and she was so mean spirited.  There was nothing that came out of her mouth that was possitive.  She had a good heart, however, a mean spirit.  Not long ago, I spoke to her to see how she was doing.  There was such a peace about her.  The good heart was showing and the mean spirit was gone.  I asked her what was going on and she had mentioned she started going to a Christian church.  She learned what it meant to have a personal relationship with God and that Jesus was our Saviour.  She finally got it.  She went to Bible Study classes that helped her understand what God was telling her through His word.  I asked her, “Don’t you feel such a peacefulness now?”  She said, “Yes!”  I was so happy for her I just wanted to cry and praise God for the work He had done in her.  It is so wonderful to know God is still on the move in the negative world.

I wish I had gone to a Christian school for 6 years instead of a Catholic one.  How great it would be to learn about God and how Jesus saved us from sin and understand how to have a personal relationship with God.  I no longer have that feeling that something is missing in my life.  I no longer feel a sadness.  I no longer feel like this is it?  I still have times where satan tries to bring me down to his pitt, but I know I can call God and ask for His strength and light and I feel Him.  What an awesome feeling to feel Him in your heart and your thoughts. 

A six week series our pastor started this week in church is titled “Positive Impressions: Soul Care in a Negative World”.  It is well worth listening to.  You can go to www.cvcwired.com and click on weekend and you should be able to listen to the teaching as well as get a copy of the teaching notes.  This week our pastor talked about being “perfectly plastic”.  Wow, how many of us were and/or are now perfectly plastic in our spiritual lives.  We dressed, talked, acted the way we thought others expected, however, on the inside really didn’t know if God was there.  Great teaching over the next 6 weeks.  If you get a chance, check it out.

As for me being a recoverying Catholic, well, all I can say is that I have learned more about how great my Father is over this past year, than I have in all the years of Catholic school and church.  So much that I feel sorrow that I walked away from God because I thought it was He who made up the manmade laws of that religion.  I am so thankfull that He found a way to pursue me and hit me over the head to hear Him. 

2 thoughts on “Another repost from BratsJourney

Leave a Reply

