Depression Hurts

I think I have a little bit of depression going on.  Alot to do with my health frustration, 2 – with things going on in my family that I have no control over and 3 – getting used to the reduction of income. 

It’s true what they say that depression hurts, I ache all over and there really isn’t any reason for it.  I know, I need to get my butt outside and enjoy the world instead of hiding in the house watching Fugitive Strike Force.  Funny thing about watching FSF, we saw someone on the NLV Swat Team that we knew.  

I know I’ve been hiding, because I only go to work, then home.  I am usually in bed by 7:30pm only to start my day all over again.  I haven’t been to church or to any of my ministry duties.  Yup, I’m in a place I should get out of.   Why am I saying this?  Probably so I realize where I am and pull my head out of my butt!  It takes a little time when I get this way, I just have to find my purpose again.

I know I’m capable of falling into this pitt … what do you do to get out of yours?

8 thoughts on “Depression Hurts

  1. Everytime I get into a “woe is me” frame of mind, it isn’t about “finding” my purpose again; it is about allowing myself to surrender to it again.

  2. When I feel down I try to get out and as far away from what is getting me down as I can. The mess we’re having with selling our house was getting the Wife and I down so we drove 4 1/2 hours to visit the Point Sur Lightstation. Turned out to be very interesting and, more importantly, distracting.

  3. HD, so true, but I’m not sure where to go to get away from myself.

    I did weed the back yard today and soaked up sun. Now my body has a reason to ache!

  4. A Friend of mine that works in a mental facility tole me that depression is what happens to some when “Others” or things do not go as the depressed wishes.

    You need to let it go if there is nothing you can do about it. No since in worry about things you can not control.

  5. It’s about attitude. Focus on the things you enjoy, not on being depressed. The further you slip away into depression, the further you will slide and the harder it will be to come back. If you hide, it will just make things worse and you will feel like doing less until you get to the point where you don’t go outside and just sleep all day.

    Being outside and doing yeardwork is a great idea. It gets you out and keeps you active.

    I hope this helps,

    Eric

Leave a Reply

