Off Night

I am having one of those off nights.  Not depressed, not the blues, maybe a little perplexed, maybe a little anxiety.  Over what you may ask?  That dang four letter word … L I F E …

I have all these ideas about what I want to do besides my normal job.  There are so many ideas and when I jazz myself up for them, my courage goes running and I’m left with … what the heck was that thought or thoughts?  

I read some of my friends blogs and they talk about how God is leading them to good things.  And I believe that, however, sometimes, when me, myself and I get these ideas, I wonder if it is part of His great plan for me or is it me charging ahead by myself into oblivion.   

When I get this way, I hear part of this song:  “… Strength will rise as we wait upon the Lord” , but how will I know when He says now is the time?  Then I hear the lyrics to the Casting Crown’s song, “Voice of Truth”:

Oh what I would do to have
The kind of faith it takes
To climb out of this boat I’m in
Onto the crashing waves

To step out of my comfort zone
Into the realm of the unknown where Jesus is
And He’s holding out His hand

But the waves are calling out my name
And they laugh at me
Reminding me of all the times
I’ve tried before and failed
The waves they keep on telling me
Time and time again. “Boy, you’ll never win!”
“You’ll never win!”

Chorus:
But the voice of truth tells me a different story
The voice of truth says, “Do not be afraid!”
The voice of truth says, “This is for My glory”
Out of all the voices calling out to me
I will choose to listen and believe the voice of truth

Oh what I would do to have
The kind of strength it takes to stand before a giant
With just a sling and a stone
Surrounded by the sound of a thousand warriors
Shaking in their armor
Wishing they’d have had the strength to stand

But the giant’s calling out my name
And he laughs at me
Reminding me of all the times
I’ve tried before and failed
The giant keeps on telling me
Time and time again. “Boy you’ll never win!”
“You’ll never win!”

But the stone was just the right size
To put the giant on the ground
And the waves they don’t seem so high
From on top of them lookin’ down
I will soar with the wings of eagles
When I stop and listen to the sound of Jesus
Singing over me

I will choose to listen and believe the voice of truth

It bothers me that the enemy can still get to me, no matter how hard I resist him.   He’s such an opportunist, when I get into this funk, he is right there to add his negative thoughts into my head.  I just have to remember that he has no control over me anymore.  I am not a part of his worldly plan.  I have faith and believe in a much more powerful One and He has a plan for me.  I just have to draw my Jesus closer to me and ward off the evil one.   I have to remember not to let my guard down, because the enemy will pounce.  I’m so glad I have Him to turn to when I get this way.  He always lifts me up from this place and puts me back on His road.  He never gets tired of putting me back on His road, no matter how many times I wander into the desert.  How comforting is that?  How great is He?

Leave a Reply

