Weekend rambling

As I mentioned, I went to my first Tai Chi class in 2 years.  Unfortunately, I’ve become a bit larger than I was before and actually broke a sweat.  So for 2 hours, I had to remember the moves, try to follow along and feel self-conscious about the beads of sweat forming/dripping on/from my face. 

When I left, I was so energized.  I wandered to the shelter to say bye to the shelter mascot, Oliver the cat.  To my surprise there were people everywhere.  They were having a kids fund raiser or something like that.  I ended up going through the side door as all the kids were filing out the front door.  Poor Oliver was overstimulated by all the attention, so all he wanted to do was attack my hand.  Such a stinker!  I asked my husband if we still get visiting rights with Oliver once he retires.  One of the volunteers wanted to know if I was ready to put up with him all day once he retires.  I looked at her and told her that I still had a full time job and I would be gone all day, so it didn’t matter to me.  She laughed.  Then she told me about her sister.  She wants to get a part-time job so she is out of the house and get a break from her husband who is now retired.  I’m thinking once we fully retire, in another 15 years, I’d rather travel or sit on a beach! 

Anyway, after the shelter, I wandered into a grocery store I hadn’t been to in a couple of years.  They were having a “buy one get one free sale” on a pork loin roast and a tritip roast.  Yes, I did buy 2 of each and came home and put the tritip in the crockpot.  I should have continued to move around,  LOL … when you do Tai Chi, it doesn’t feel like you’ve worked out your whole body, until you become immobile.  So I was a couch potato for the rest of the day. 

When hubby came home from work, he wasn’t feeling well, so today is another veg out day.  Whatever is in Carson Valley, still has so many people sick with it and we decided to stay away from people.  So, going to church today is out and drinking Airborne is in. 

Oh, I forgot to mention, that I did my part to support the Girl Scouts.  Yup, bought 5 stinkin’ boxes.  LOL … So much for my weight loss program. 

Our son wants us to visit and see the grandbabies.  I have to call him today to find out how many days they feel like putting up with us.  You know what they say about fish and guests, after 3 days, they start to stink … LOL!   We just don’t want to overstay our welcome.  I’m watching Independence Day, for the zillionth time.  If you want to know what my son is like, it would have to be the character Will Smith plays.  Especially when he punches out ET.   Sorry, Son, I know you hate when I say that, but he does!

Last night “Secondhand Lions” was on CBS.  I forgot how good that movie is.  The bad thing about watching it on a network station is the commercials AND the editing.  I may have to pull out the DVD and re-watch the movie.   If you haven’t seen this movie, you should rent it. 

Well, I should do something constructive … that is, if I can avoid the couch that’s calling me again!  Ya’ll have a good day and a great week!

2 thoughts on “Weekend rambling

  1. Thanks, I forgot how much I enjoy it. And the monthly price through the rec center is less than one Venti Caramel Macciato, extra Caramel. So, ya know, ya can’t go wrong with that!

Leave a Reply

