Happy Valentine’s Day

I hope you all have a great Valentine’s Day.  I know there are many out there that are single or away from your spouse, however, I still wish you a great day.  Why?  Because you are still loved by family and friends.  You are still loved by the One who made us.   You really are not alone, He is always with you even though you may think He’s forgotten you.

I’m not a good card sender on Valentine’s Day, even to our grandbabies.  It is a holiday, however, it brings to mind “candy” which the grandbabies don’t need.  We remember the important days, like birthdays and Christmas.  Days that are meant to mean something special to the receiver.

My husband and I weren’t raised on sending greeting cards to all for every Hallmark moment.  Birthdays in both our families weren’t made a big deal.  Christmas … well, I am usually depressed at Christmas, so that may tell you something about Christmas in my childhood. 

My Sister’s mother-in-law passed away just recently and I got as far as pulling out a sympathy card from my card box and it sits on the counter to this day.  Nope, not signed, not addressed.  So, when I decide to clean off the counter, the card will go back in the box for another time.  How lame is that?  Best intentions, no follow through.  Yes, my sister understands, she is the same way.

Just because we don’t do this, doesn’t mean that we love our family, friends, or grandbabies any less.  We just don’t buy into the hype on every holiday created earlier and earlier by the retail industry.  As I was zooming through the store tonight, Easter candy, et al, is already  on the shelves.  Amazing!   

One thought on “Happy Valentine’s Day

  1. I’m not always the biggest fan of the day, whether in a relationship or no; something about it just rubs me the wrong way. But I thank you for the thoughts in your post, due to the sincerity with which you give them… 🙂

Leave a Reply

