Dreams

I had a pretty strange dream last night.  It could be the 1/2 grilled cheese sandwich and light vanilla soy milk I had before I went to sleep and/or the strong cough syrup my doc prescribed.  Then again, it could have been that I was lost in Stephanie Plum’s bounty hunter world and didn’t turn off the light until after 1am. 

So, what was the dream already?!  I dreamt that my family hadn’t heard from my brother in a long time and we had just found out he was in Alaska.  My sisters talked to him on the phone but I arrived late at one of their houses and missed the opportunity.  I was really bummed because he is our only brother and was always there if I needed to talk.  I dialed the number they had for him, and asked to speak to my brother.  There was background noise and a little static, but he never came on the line.  The line finally disconnected and I felt so sad.  When I woke, I was still sad and wanted to find the number again to call him.  Then I realized, my brother died many years ago. 

I told hubby about my dream.  Instead of looking at me like I’ve lost my mind, he just grinned and said he was pretty sure brother was beyond Alaska and no phone lines would reach.  Poor guy, he never knows what I’ll say in the morning, awake or asleep. 

I don’t remember what season my brother died.  But it’s nice to know he still tries to visit in my dreams.

One thought on “Dreams

  1. Interesting dream. Are dreams just random firings of neurons & memories, or are they something more? I suppose we’ll never really know for sure.

    The practical side of me leans towards the former, the more hopeful side of me leans towards the latter…

Leave a Reply

