Bondage

Now that I have your attention, what is bondage?  No, not the kind the has your arms and legs tied up in a leather outfit and a mask.  Okay, you out there yelling, “Yeah, baby!” need to settle down.  LOL

I’m talking about spiritual bondage.  Bondage that has you, your emotions, your life and your soul bound by the worldly one.  What are these things that bind us?  Well, let’s see, anger comes to mind, greed, envy, pride, addiction, depression, resentment and selfishness to name a few. 

Imagine each of these things being a chain wrapped around you, isn’t it heavy?  Doesn’t it weigh you down?  Don’t you feel like you are in the pit with no way out?  Do you ask yourself why that person has that and you are stuck with this?  Or, why should I help them, they don’t do anything to help me!  How about, I don’t know how they can afford that, we make more money than them!  Let’s see, what about, I can’t go through another day, the world is getting crazy.  I am not going to go anywhere from now on!  There’s also, Her diamond ring is so beautiful, I really want one of those.  There’s also the things that you don’t think are a problem, like … if I can win this hand I’ll be all set.  I’m a social drinker, I have to have my hot toddy at night.     Is that chain getting heavier?  Have you hit bottom and are searching for a way out of your situation? 

I found myself on my knees from the weight of all these chains.  All the things in my life that I’ve done were holding me down.  I was in the pit to the point I was going to end it all.  The only thing that stopped me was knowing I would have to face God at the end.  I couldn’t do it.  He knew me before I was born.  He has a plan for me.  He pursued me until I could no longer say no.  Once I did, I repented and accepted Jesus into my heart as my Savior and a funny thing happened.  The weight of all the things in my past started lifting. 

Am I perfect?  No     Do I still stumble?  Yes     Do I feel alone anymore?  No, for I know He is always with me.    Do I feel restless?  No, He has calmed my anxiety.  

I cannot imagine going through this life without hope.  Without His grace.  Without His mercy.  Without His strength.   Without His love.

The worldly/evil one is always telling you that you are no good.  You are not good enough.  You don’t have what it takes, you might as well give up.  The Voice of Truth says, do not be afraid.

2 thoughts on “Bondage

  1. Wow, thats amazing. I am christian too and can totally understand what your saying because I too have felt such a release from bondage in my life. Just what I needed to read as well – what an encouragement!

Leave a Reply

