Such a sorrowful day

My prayers go out to the family and friends of the victims as well as the family and friends of the shooter at the shopping mall in Omaha.  I cannot even imagine nor do I want to even imagine what they all are going through at this time. 

My children, my sister and I used to go shopping at that mall when we lived in Nebraska.  It was one of our weekend getaways, since Omaha was only an hour away from Lincoln.  It was fun to get in the car, drive and check out the stores, eat and drive back home. 

I was reading Traveling Mercies by Anne Lamott.  There were 2 paragraphs I highlighted.  The first one is “…when a lot of things start going wrong all at once, it is to protect something big and lovely that is trying to get itself born – and that this something needs for you to be distracted so that it can be born as perfectly as possible.”  The second one is “Man is born broken.  He lives by mending.  The grace of God is glue.”

I pray everyone finds the strength and courage to go on, to find God’s grace to forgive as we have been forgiven and to accept His healing to mend all the pain and suffering.

2 thoughts on “Such a sorrowful day

  1. GH, from your post “Gone”, you have an idea of how strange it feels with the loss of your “Secret Place”. I hope your Secret Place recovers soon and you can enjoy it once again.

Leave a Reply

