Breaks the heart

I was talking to our son tonight and he put our grand-daughter on the phone.  She told both me and her papa, that she missed us, loved us and wanted to go back to Vegas.  Her voice was so sad, it just breaks the heart.  Now mind you, she’s only 4 and she’s only been in Nebraska since March.  I’m glad we weren’t talking over the computer, it would really be rough.  She’s the sister of our youngest grandchild.  Her dad got back on the phone and I chuckled as I proceeded to tell him that she sounded like me.  Wanting to go back to Vegas and my husband asking … “WHY?”  LOL … who knows what is in store for us.

Have you ever lost someone in your family?  There’s only 3 of us left out of a family of 7.  My mom, dad, brother and one of my sisters have passed on.  So we aren’t strangers to loss.  My daughter called last night to tell me that her father (my ex) lost his youngest brother to cancer.  I felt sad for the whole family, since that family has had it rough.  The blessing is that he is no longer suffering.  However, it is still hard on the ones left behind.  My children are fine, they just worry about their father.  I worry about my children and the cycle goes round and round.

You never stop worrying about your children, no matter what age they are.  You can try to hide it or bury it, however, it is still there and creeps in when you least expect it.  Is there ever an age when you stop worrying about your children … I don’t think so.  It doesn’t matter how old they get, moms and dads still worry.  Guess that’s one of our jobs as parents. 

One thought on “Breaks the heart

  1. Loss is a part of life which, unfortunately, never makes it easier.

    Yep, it’s just what parents do. When I was younger, of course, it annoyed me (teenage angst), but now I’m pretty much okay with it. That children worry about their parents as well is a sign of a good, caring family. And that is a wonderful thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

