“Playing by Heart”

I just finished watching this movie and I don’t know why it isn’t on my favorite movie list.  I will have to add it.  It’s an older movie staring:  Sean Connery, Gena Rowlands, Angelina Jolie, Gillian Anderson, Madeline Stowe, Dennis Quaid, and others …

Good movie about relationships, family, friends and love.   Relationships on any level can be difficult.  The dynamics between family, friends, spouses, co-workers, you name it, is so complex. 

I only have one or two close friends and I haven’t really talked to them in a long time.  We’ve seen each other and talked, but not really talked like we used to.  The rest are acquaintances.  I know them, but keep them all at a distance.   Why is that?  It is easier for me to talk here over the computer than it is to talk in person.  I feel more free to write about what’s going on then I do talking to someone about what is going on.   Is it just me or do you feel the same way?

What about relationships with family?  Mothers and daughters, mothers and sons, fathers and sons and/or daughters, sibling and sibling, not to mention adding “in-laws” to all that mix.  I am so guilty of being able to see the problem between other family members, however, am oblivious to my own problems with family members.  I guess I shouldn’t say oblivious, because I am aware there is a problem.  How to correct or fix the problem, I don’t have an answer.  I’m pretty much damned if I do and damned if I don’t.  I’ve tried, however, I feel my efforts are a waste and leave me feeling sad and disappointed.  I actually don’t know what to do, so I don’t do anything at all.  I feel a gap growing wider between me and this person, to a point that I’m afraid it will be unrepairable.   Whatever I have done to this person, I am sorry.  We’ve never really had an open relationship and again, I am sorry for that also.  My one thing in life I miss  terribly, is this person.  It would be nice to start again to try to get to know each other.

2 thoughts on ““Playing by Heart”

  1. I know how you feel about being online. When we’re online, we remove all the physical appearances by which we usually, however unintentionally, judge each other. Whether or not I’m more myself online, or simply have fewer defenses raised, I haven’t yet determined. But I will say that I have met some of the most wonderful people out here on the net…

Leave a Reply

