Missing out on work excitement

I got to work, late as usual, only to find out I missed all the excitement.  The 2 owners of our company got into one of their infamous arguments.   Probably a good thing I wasn’t there, since one of the owners threw everything on my desk across the office.  When the explosion moved to another area, the salesman picked up all my things and put them back on my desk.  LOL, talk about a hostile work environment!  Usually it blows over and everything settles down, until the next time.

But it got me to thinking … I have, as our older daughter puts it, a 5 year plan.  I figure the owners are either going to sell or shut down in 5 years, so I will be unemployed by that time.  I am trying to pay off our debts so we can survive on a much smaller income.  What would happen if my 5 year plan is reduced to 1 or 2 years.  Hmmm, that could be ugly!  However, been there before and survived, I’m sure we could do it again! 

So what are your plans for the future, whether it be 1 or 2 years or 5 years or 10 or 15 years?  Where do you see yourself in those time frames?  Swimming with your head barely above water?  Drowning?  Living life fancyfree? 

My five year plan was to have bills paid off, buy a truck, and travel trailer.  Store what the kids want, chuck the rest and be a nomad.   Now, I’m back to square one.  Should they decide to move up my deadline and extend my timeline, my 5 year plan, may end up being a 15 year plan.  I liked 5 years much better!

2 thoughts on “Missing out on work excitement

Leave a Reply

