Too hot to sleep

Sorry, peoples.  It is too hot in the house, so I cannot sleep.  Guess you are stuck with my ramblings.  Today is our sweet angel’s 1st birthday.  You probably remember her in the pic I posted with our dog.  I cannot believe she’s already 1 year old. 

So, let’s see, what other story can I tell on myself.  I was born and raised in Las Vegas, NV.  You would think the heat wouldn’t bother me.  WRONG!  The older I get the harder it is to tolerate the heat.  My sister keeps trying to get me to move back home, but the traffic and weather keep me away.   For me, Vegas is a nice place to visit, not to live.   I’m happy with my cows, pine tress and alpine lake, thank you very much.  Yeah, I know, not that I enjoy the pine trees and alpine lake that much, however, I am going to get out there and stop and smell the trees.  Did you know that pine trees can smell like strawberry or vanilla?  I thought my husband was crazy, until he made me smell them. 

We used to stomp around in the desert around Vegas.  That was how we spent our weekends, hiking different areas of Red Rock Canyon(my absolute favorite place), or wandering around Mount Charleston. 

When we were living together, I used to tease him about getting married.  I knew he wasn’t going to get married again, but I kept teasing and nudging.  One weekend, we were getting ready for our usual weekend wander.  I had my holy jeans and holy flannel shirt on, hiking boots and ball cap.  He looked at me and said, “You are not getting married in that!”

I looked at him and laughed.  I proceeded to tell him he was not getting married.  So he pulls out my nicer flannel shirt (no holes), my nicer jeans (no holes) and cowboy boots and tells me to put them on.  I was so dense then … LOL … I did and I was so frustrated that I was going to get my nice clothes messed up in the desert.

So we proceed downtown to visit one of his friends who owned a store.  Next thing he says is, we’ve gotta go.  So off to the car we go again.  He drives a couple of blocks and parks in front of the county clerk’s office and it dawns on me that he is serious. 

The line is out the door and around the corner.  Why?  Because this is New Year’s Eve Day.  LOL … we stood in line with the rest of the world waiting to get our marriage license to be married before the year is up.  Once we got the license, we walked a couple of blocks to the Justice of the Peace and got married.  When they came to the ring part, we looked at each other and said, nope we don’t got a ring.  To which the Justice of the Peace said, that’s okay, you don’t need one.  LOL, we got one later, just not for the ceremony.

Once married, we walked back into the lobby to find the next couple waiting to be married.  I was extremely dressed up compared to her.  She had on sweats and fuzzy multi colored socks/slippers on.  Amazing I can still remember that 23 3/4 years later.

Next year we turn 50 and it will be our 25th wedding anniversary.  So I think 2008 we should just party all year … what do you think?

Leave a Reply

